HARROWS DPA Challenge Tour Update

The DPA Challenge Tour was on again over the weekend and in Sydney the second venue for the event, the Blue Cattle Dog Hotel at St Marys, saw James Doherty take out the first two events over Liam McLennan on both occasions. The following day Doherty picked up a hat trick of wins with victory over Nathan Walsh (5-3) before another regular winner, Kerry Allen, returned to winning ways with a 5-2 victory over Doherty (who had played in every round over the whole weekend.)
At Mollymook, on the South Coast of NSW, Manny Kato won his first event of the Challenge Tour with a win over regular victor Shane Wolter in the second event after Wolter had taken out the first event of the weekend with a 5-3 win in the Final over Russell Northey. Day two started the same way day one had, with a 5-3 win to Wolter over Northey. Manny Kato then doubled his own victory tally with a 5-0 whitewash of Matt Craig in the last event.
At the Young Services Club in south western NSW Greg LeStrange continued his good form with a 5-3 win over Rod Crawford before Josh Townsend took out the second event, defeating Adam Faulkner 6-4 in the Final. Le Strange then took out both events on the Sunday, with a 4-2 win over Faulkner and then a 4-3 victory over Mick Lean in the final event of the weekend.
At the Italian Club in Morwell the Victorian leg of the championship saw Brode Klinge defeat veteran Dean Gibbs 5-2 in the second final having won the first event 5-1 over Brandon Weening, a young player riding a wave of success in recent weeks. Weening followed up on the weekend by handing another defeat to Gibbs in a Final, taking out the win 5-4. In the final event Klinge completed a hat trick of wins on the weekend with a 5-2 win over Kjell Ove Almeland.
The next Challenge Tour event will be occurring in Tasmania before the action returns to Queensland and across NSW and Victoria. The Harrows DPA Pro Tour has a bumper round this coming extended weekend at the ALH Macquarie Inn Dubbo, host of the first two DPA/DPNZ Australasian Championships in 2016 and 2017.