International Pro Darts Series 2018

The draw was made on Tuesday night for all four events across Brisbane, Gold Coast, Townsville and Mackay in the Pro Darts Series. Sponsored by CUB (Cougar Brand), UBET, Formula Sports, Newscorp, Rydges, Helloworld Travel and Target Darts.
Hosted by MC Russ Bray the draw covered all the events across January Will Evans, the Sports Marketing Manager of UBET, and Key Accounts Manager at CUB Michael Parlby drew the numbers on the night and there were some juicy matches in the preliminary rounds.
The Brisbane event sees Kyle Anderson take on kiwi young gun Tahuna Irwin who took Bernie Smith all the way when challenging for the Oceanic Masters last year. Simon Whitlock takes on Lucas Cameron as the Victorian returns to the big stage against the man just named as returning to the Premier League in the UK. Queenslander Robbie King will be looking for home state support to get him over the line against legendary Scotsman Jamie Harvey. Raymond Smith will conclude the first night as he takes on 16 time World Champion Phil Taylor.
The Gold Coast event sees home town boy Robbie King take on the bravedart himself, Jamie Harvey. The African Warrior Devon Peterson matches wits with Lucas Cameron, who represented Australia in the Stewart Frampton trophy competition in 2017. Andy Hamilton will take on the returning Australian domestic number one from 2017 in GG Mathers whilst Kyle Anderson’s match promises to be top notch as he takes on local star Rhys Mathewson who has more than held his own against the top professionals on the big stage of the World Series of Darts events.
Townsville sees Russell Stewart matched up against Tic Bridge, the Barney slayer, in a repeat of the opening round in Brisbane. Kyle Anderson v Raymond Smith in a battle of the Queenslanders should be a great match, whilst local star Jeremy Fagg will take on Scottish legend Jamie Harvey. Andy Hamilton verses another Queenslander, in world championship contestant GG Mathers, also looks to be a rather tasty affair.
Mackay has some great match ups as Kyle Anderson will take on Rhys Mathewson for the second time in the series. Meanwhile Russell Stewart will take on GG Mathers and Phil Taylor will step up to the oche against Kevin McCarthy. Another classic encounter could be Dmitri van Den Bergh, current World Youth Champion, against local star Lucas Cameron.
Each player commented on their enthusiasm for the event when spoken to by Russ Bray after the dray was concluded.
Johnny Kuczynski “This is an unbelievable event. Las Vegas is the biggest we have in the US, but I love coming here. I was here in 2012 and it is an honour to be here for this event.”
Russell Stewart “This is one of the most exciting things we have in darts in Australia. This is brilliant and I hope this really puts our sport on TV and the fans all enjoy it.”
Devon Peterson “For the last 12 months I have initiated the last man standing African darts corporation emulating the PDC. This kind of series shows us what it is to host such an event in South Africa. I am excited to be here.”
Kyle Anderson “I can say from a youth perspective this is what you dreamt of, to be an Australian player and play in big hometown events. We wished for events like this and now it has come on a regular basis.”
Andy Hamilton “I am looking to do the best I can and The Hammer is coming back better and stronger. This is a great platform for that improvement.”
Jamie Harvey: It is exciting to be here in Australia, I am looking forward to getting on the stage again and performing well.”
Simon Whitlock “The end of the year has been great I am over the moon. I have worked really hard and it was my goal to get back in the Premier League and in the top ten and I am back. It is hard to come back the young kids are exceptional but I have made it. I am look forward to playing in Australia again.”
Phil Taylor “I have really looked forward to coming back to Austalia and it is great to see familiar faces. I am looking forward to this new phase of my darts. I can also relax and enjoy Australia for a change properly.”
A small number of tickets are still available for each event
Each Preliminary match is the best of 11 legs.
1 Andy Hamilton v Lewis Kirk
2 Johnny K v Rhys Mathewson
3 Jamie Harvey v Robbie King
4 Russell Stewart v Tic Bridge
5 Devon Peterson v Raymond O’Donnell
6 Kyle Anderson v Tahuna Irwin
7 Simon Whitlock v Lucas Cameron
8 Phil Taylor v Raymond Smith

Gold Coast
1 Jamie Harvey v Steven Macarthur
2 Russell Stewart v Brad Thorp
3 Johnny K v Robbie King
4 Andy Hamilton v Gg Mathers
5 Devon Peterson v Lucas Cameron
6 Kyle Anderson v Rhys Mathewson
7 Simon Whitlock v Stuart Leach
8 Phil Taylor v Tic Bridge

1 Jamie Harvey v Jeremy Fagg
2 Dmitri Van Den Bergh v Pat Molloy
3 Johnny K v Lucas Cameron
4 Andy Hamilton v GG Mathers
5 Devon Peterson v Rhys Mathewson
6 Russell Stewart v Tic Bridge
7 Kyle Anderson v Raymond Smith
8 Phil Taylor v Greg Major

1 Andy Hamilton v John Bunyard
2 Devon Peterson v Dave Littleboy
3 Johnny K v Tic Bridge
4 Jamie Harvey v Raymond Smith
5 Russell Stewart v GG Mathers
6 Dmitri Van Den Bergh v Lucas Cameron
7 Kyle Anderson v Rhys Mathewson
8 Phil Taylor v Kevin McCarthy